Last Updated on May 9, 2022 by Benson Varghese
When most people think of Texas, they think of cowboys, cattle, and the Wild West. However, there is another side to Texas that is often overlooked – its divorce rate. Nearly 12 percent of people will be divorced by age 30 in the Lone Star State. In this blog post, we throw out 10 fascinating facts about divorce in Texas and across the country. Keep reading to learn more!
- The average age for couples going through their first divorce is age 30.
Couples who married between the ages are 20 to 25 are 60 percent likely to get a divorce, according to the World Population Review. Those who wait until they are older than 25 to get married are 24 percent less likely to get a divorce.
- 2. The average cost of divorce in Texas is $15,600.
If children aren’t involved, the average cost of divorce in Texas is $15,600. If kids are involved, the cost shoots up to $23,500. That makes Texas the fifth costliest state in the country for divorce, according to the USA Today.
- 3. Wives initiate divorce more than husbands.
Nearly 70 percent of divorces are initiated by women, according to a study conducted by the American Sociological Association. Experts theorize that women often initiate the divorce due to unhappiness caused by mismatches between the sexes, such as handling household chores and taking care of the kids while working a full-time job.
- 4. Money is the one of the most common reasons for divorce.
Financial issues are one of the most common reasons for divorce, followed by lack of intimacy and infidelity, according to Survive Divorce.
- 5. Women earning $75,000 to $100,000 a year have the highest divorce rate.
In contrast, men earning over $100,000 a year are the most likely to be married, according to analysts at QuoteWizard.
- 6. The city of Hudson has the highest divorce rate in Texas.
The city of Hudson in Angelina County in east Texas has the highest divorce rate, with 19 percent of people over age 15 divorced, according to RoadSnack. The 10 cities with the highest divorce rates in Texas are:
- 7. January is the most popular month to file for divorce.
January is the most popular month to file for divorce in Texas and across the country. In fact, it has been dubbed the “Divorce Month.” Family law attorneys theorize that couples wait to file for divorce until after the busy and stressful holidays, so they can have a new outlook in the new year.
- 8. Arkansas has the highest divorce rate.
Arkansas and Oklahoma have the highest divorce rates, while Maine and the District of Columbia have the lowest divorce rates.
- 9. Texas divorce rate is relatively low.
In 2020, the most recent data available, there were 1.5 divorces for every 1000 inhabitants in Texas, according to Statista. This represents a steady decrease. In 1990, the divorce rate stood at 5.5 divorces for everyone 1000 inhabitants.
- 10. Casino managers and bartenders have the highest divorce rates.
Where you work could impact your marriage. According to Insider, these are the 10 occupations with the highest divorce rates:
- Gaming and casino managers: 52.9 percent
- Bartenders: 52.7 percent
- Flight attendants: 50.5 percent
- Gaming service workers: 50.3 percent
- Rolling machine setters, operators and tenders, metal and plastic: 50.1 percent
- Switchboard operators: 49.7 percent
- Extruding and drawing machine setters, operators and tenders, metal and plastic: 49.6 percent
- Telemarketers: 49.2 percent
- Textile knitting and weaving machine operators: 48.9 percent
- Extruding, forming, pressing, and compacting machine setters, operators, and tenders: 48.8 percent
Contemplating divorce? Contact us.
We hope you found these facts about divorce interesting. If you are considering divorce in North Texas, we encourage you to reach out to Varghese Summersett Family Law Group. We will walk you through the process and help you make the best decisions for your future. Contact us today at 817-900-3220 to schedule a consultation.